I’m writing this post from Dublin, Ireland! Slainte! I thought I’d write a post about how I decided what to see and do in Dublin.

I spent quite a bit of time with books I checked out from several of my local libraries, including:

Kathy Brown’s Ireland: Charming Inns and Itineraries (2006)
Frommer’s 24 Great Walks in Dublin (2009)
Ireland – DK Witness Travel Guide (2011)
Rick Steve’s Ireland 2013
Fodor’s 2014 Ireland
Ireland’s best trips: 24 amazing road trips (2013)

However, I really didn’t find them that useful. I ended up ordering Frommer’s Dublin day by day (2011) from Amazon.com since I couldn’t find a copy at any of my local libraries. I’ve used the day by day guides in Paris, Seattle, San Francisco, and New York, and found them very helpful. This time was no different! I like the fold out map that is included in the guides, although I actually found the map provided by the Brooks Hotel in Dublin where we stayed even more useful.

Using the day by day guide and the above referenced map from the hotel, we ultimately decided to visit the following:

St. Stephen’s Green Park
Grafton Street
George St. Arcade
St. Patrick’s Cathedal
Guinness Storehouse
Temple Bar
Dublin Castle
Christ Church Cathedral
Trinity College Library (Book of Kells!)

We also explored down many side streets and alleys. It’s been an awesome trip! Tomorrow we head southwest to Kilkenny and new adventures!

Here is one of my favorite pictures from the trip so far……

20140518-230933-83373030.jpg

